AI tools for architects and designers: 25 tools by task
Design work runs from checking whether a site can hold a building to showing a client what it will look like. These are the tools in our directory for the main steps, grouped by task. We list what each vendor publishes about price. We have not tested them, and none replaces professional judgment or local code checks.
Listed by task, alphabetical within each task, not ranked and not tested: we have not used these tools. Descriptions and starting prices are the ones on each tool's page, from the vendors' own sites and other public sources, and they change, so confirm on the vendor's site before you pay.
Before you pick a tool
- Treat outputs as early drafts. Feasibility numbers, unit counts and code checks from any tool need review by a licensed professional before they guide a decision.
- Check coverage. Some tools work only in certain countries or with certain software, such as Revit, SketchUp or Rhino. Look at each profile for the integrations and regions the vendor lists.
- Credits and seats change the price. Many render tools charge by credits and many planning tools charge per seat or per year. Compare the unit each vendor uses, not just the headline price.
- Check who owns the output. Read the terms for commercial use of renders and what happens to the models and images you upload.
Site feasibility and space planning4 tools
Tools for testing what a site can hold.
- ArchistarProperty research and generative 3D design platform for development sites. Free plan; paid plans start at $79.17 a month billed annually ($95 monthly).Free / $79.17+
- GiraffeBrowser-based real estate platform for site analysis, 3D massing and feasibility calculations, with an SDK. Core is $45 a month billed monthly; Teams is $1,500 per user a year.$45/mo
- HyparBrowser-based space-planning software with a Revit add-in. Reported: free for non-professional use; Professional $1,000 per user billed annually (about $83 a month).Free / $83+
- TestFitSite feasibility software for parking, massing and unit yield. Parking Solver is $195 a month billed monthly; Site Solver starts at $15,000 a year.$195/mo
Early building and floor-plan design5 tools
Tools for sketching buildings and layouts.
- ARCHITECHTURESGenerative AI platform for early-stage multifamily building design with cost take-offs and XLSX, DXF and IFC exports. Pro is $49 a month billed annually; 7-day trial.$49/mo
- ArcolBrowser-based building design platform for real-time collaborative modeling, metrics and boards. Free plan; Team is $100 per user a month (Reported), $1,200 a year billed annually.Free / $100+
- Maket.aiAI workspace for residential floor plans and renders, in the browser. Free plan available; Homeowner is $20 a month (annual billing 17% off).Free / $20+
- RayonBrowser-based CAD for interior designers and architects with real-time editing and AI tracing and visualization. Pro is $21 a month billed annually (about $27 monthly).Free / $21+
- SnaptrudeBrowser-based concept design platform for architects with AI agents and Revit and Rhino integration. Pro is $50 a month billed yearly, or $60 monthly.Free / $50+
Renders and visual concepts4 tools
Tools that turn sketches and models into images.
- mnml.aiAI rendering tool that turns sketches, model views and photos into architectural and interior renders. Lite is $29 a month (monthly billing; annual price not listed).$29/mo
- Motif ReviewBrowser-based design review with AI rendering, editing, video and 4K upscaling. Pro is $25 per seat a month, billed monthly or annually, with 60 credits.$25/mo
- VerasChaos AI rendering tool for Revit, SketchUp, Rhino, Archicad and more, with a 14-day trial. Named license is $348 billed annually (about $29 a month).$29/mo
- VizcomAI sketch-to-render design tool with credit-based generation. Starter is free; Professional is $49 per user a month (billing basis not stated).Free / $49+
Mood boards and image editing4 tools
General image tools often used for concepts and references.
- Adobe FireflyAdobe's generative AI for images, video and audio, with a limited free tier and credit-based paid plans. Adobe says Firefly model outputs can be used commercially. Standard is $9.99 a month.$9.99/mo
- Krea AICreative suite for AI image, video and 3D generation with real-time canvas, upscaling and LoRA training. Free plan refills daily; Basic is $5 a month billed annually ($9 monthly).Free / $5+
- MagnificAI creative platform (formerly Freepik) for image, video, audio and 3D generation, upscaling and editing, with a stock library. Premium is $14.50 a month billed annually ($20 monthly).Free / $14.50+
- MidjourneySubscription AI image and short-video generator used on midjourney.com and in Discord. Basic is $8 a month billed annually ($10 monthly); no free tier.$8+/mo
3D capture and assets4 tools
Scanning real spaces and making 3D assets.
- Adobe Substance 3DDesktop 3D texturing and material apps (Painter, Designer, Sampler) with an asset library. Texturing is $249.88 prepaid annually ($24.99 monthly), per Adobe's Feb 2025 blog.$20.82/mo
- MeshyGenerates 3D models from text or images, with texturing, rigging and animation. Free plan with 100 credits a month; Pro is $20 a month.$20/mo
- Polycam3D capture app that builds models, floor plans and measurements from phone photos, video and LiDAR. Basic is $12.50 a month billed annually ($30 monthly).Free / $12.50+
- Spline AIBrowser-based 3D and 2D design tool with an AI agent and 3D generation using monthly credits. Hobby is $12 a month billed annually ($15 monthly).Free / $12+
Presenting and sharing4 tools
Diagrams, slides and websites for showing work.
- FramerWebsite builder with a visual canvas, CMS and hosting, plus an AI Agent and translations that run on workspace credits. Free plan; paid site plans from $10 a month, priced per site.Free / $10+
- GammaAI tool that generates presentations, documents and websites from a prompt or outline. Free plan with 400 credits; paid plans add credits, no badge and custom domains.$9/mo
- Napkin AITurns pasted text into editable visuals. Free plan available; paid plans from $9 per person a month add PPT and SVG export and remove branding.Free / $9+
- VismeWeb design tool for presentations, infographics and documents with templates and AI credits. Paid plans start at $12.25 a month per person billed annually.Free / $12.25+
Tools on this page with a free plan14 tools
These list a free plan on their tool page. Free plans differ a lot in limits, watermarks and what you may do commercially, so open the profile before you rely on one.
- ArchistarProperty research and generative 3D design platform for development sites. Free plan; paid plans start at $79.17 a month billed annually ($95 monthly).Free / $79.17+
- ArcolBrowser-based building design platform for real-time collaborative modeling, metrics and boards. Free plan; Team is $100 per user a month (Reported), $1,200 a year billed annually.Free / $100+
- FramerWebsite builder with a visual canvas, CMS and hosting, plus an AI Agent and translations that run on workspace credits. Free plan; paid site plans from $10 a month, priced per site.Free / $10+
- HyparBrowser-based space-planning software with a Revit add-in. Reported: free for non-professional use; Professional $1,000 per user billed annually (about $83 a month).Free / $83+
- Krea AICreative suite for AI image, video and 3D generation with real-time canvas, upscaling and LoRA training. Free plan refills daily; Basic is $5 a month billed annually ($9 monthly).Free / $5+
- MagnificAI creative platform (formerly Freepik) for image, video, audio and 3D generation, upscaling and editing, with a stock library. Premium is $14.50 a month billed annually ($20 monthly).Free / $14.50+
- Maket.aiAI workspace for residential floor plans and renders, in the browser. Free plan available; Homeowner is $20 a month (annual billing 17% off).Free / $20+
- Napkin AITurns pasted text into editable visuals. Free plan available; paid plans from $9 per person a month add PPT and SVG export and remove branding.Free / $9+
- Polycam3D capture app that builds models, floor plans and measurements from phone photos, video and LiDAR. Basic is $12.50 a month billed annually ($30 monthly).Free / $12.50+
- RayonBrowser-based CAD for interior designers and architects with real-time editing and AI tracing and visualization. Pro is $21 a month billed annually (about $27 monthly).Free / $21+
- SnaptrudeBrowser-based concept design platform for architects with AI agents and Revit and Rhino integration. Pro is $50 a month billed yearly, or $60 monthly.Free / $50+
- Spline AIBrowser-based 3D and 2D design tool with an AI agent and 3D generation using monthly credits. Hobby is $12 a month billed annually ($15 monthly).Free / $12+
- VismeWeb design tool for presentations, infographics and documents with templates and AI credits. Paid plans start at $12.25 a month per person billed annually.Free / $12.25+
- VizcomAI sketch-to-render design tool with credit-based generation. Starter is free; Professional is $49 per user a month (billing basis not stated).Free / $49+
No tool matches that search.
Side-by-side comparisons for these tools6
More guides: AI tools for small business · Free AI tools · AI tools by monthly price · Compare tools. Other guides by goal: Creators · Freelancers · Small businesses · Job seekers · Developers · Marketers · Researchers and students · Security · Teachers · Startup founders.