Live · 452 tools tracked ⓘ Affiliate disclosure EspañolES

Get occasional email updates on new AI tools. No spam.

Sudowrite

Sudowrite is an AI writing tool built for fiction, with a Story Bible for characters and worldbuilding plus tools to write, rewrite, describe, expand and brainstorm. It runs as a web app at sudowrite.com, and its blog does not specify other platforms.

Writing & Copy

At a glance

Best Fit
Writing & Copy
Free Trial
Paid only
Starting Price
$10/mo
Category
Writing & Copy

What is Sudowrite?

Sudowrite is an AI writing tool built for fiction, with a Story Bible for characters and worldbuilding plus tools to write, rewrite, describe, expand and brainstorm. It runs as a web app at sudowrite.com, and its blog does not specify other platforms.

Who it's for

Sudowrite says it is for fiction writers, and its pricing page describes Hobby & Student for writing for fun or school, Professional for longer works like a novel or screenplay, and Max for authors who publish multiple times a year. Its blog says the tool is built exclusively for fiction.

Pros & cons

Strengths

  • Sudowrite's blog says a Story Bible can import up to 60,000 words of notes, and a Series Folder shares Story Bible content across books in a series.
  • The blog says Write continues a scene after reading up to 20,000 words of your manuscript plus the Story Bible, and Rewrite revises up to 6,000 selected words.
  • The blog lists Chapter Continuity linking up to 25 documents, Canvas with four outline templates, and a Chat-only mode that uses no credits.
  • The pricing page lists Muse and Ballad, Sudowrite's own fiction models, plus 30+ other models, and the blog names models from OpenAI, Anthropic and Google.
  • Sudowrite's FAQ says it claims no rights over what you put in or what it generates, and does not use your writing to train Sudowrite or OpenAI's models.
  • The help pages say you can cancel, upgrade, downgrade or pause, and can keep accessing and exporting your documents without an active plan.

Limitations

  • Usage is metered in credits that depend on words read, words written and the model used; the help page says 1,000,000 credits could yield anywhere from 50,000 to 500,000 AI words, so credits do not map directly to words.
  • The pricing page lists developmental edits, line edits and beta reads only for Professional and Max, and credit rollover (12 months) only for Max; the help page says Feedback is exclusive to Professional and Max.
  • Vendor pages disagree: the blog says every plan includes all features while the pricing page reserves some for higher tiers, and the pricing page shows Professional credits as both 1,000,000 and 450,000 (the help page says 1,000,000).
  • The pricing page shows $10, $22 and $44 without stating the billing basis and does not give trial length or credits; the help page lists $19, $29 and $59 monthly versus $10, $22 and $44 billed annually.
  • After canceling, AI features need a paid plan per the FAQ, and the privacy policy page read does not mention AI training and shows conflicting update dates (March 20, 2024 and October 6, 2020).

Plans and pricing

  • Free trial: $0. No credit card required; length and credits not stated on the pricing page. The blog sidebar mentions 10,000 free credits (Reported). No ongoing free plan.
  • Hobby & Student: $10 a month billed annually, or $19 monthly. 225,000 credits a month.
  • Professional: $22 a month billed annually, or $29 monthly. 1,000,000 credits a month per the help page (pricing page also shows 450,000); adds developmental edits, line edits and beta reads.
  • Max: $44 a month billed annually, or $59 monthly. 2,000,000 credits a month; unused credits roll over for 12 months.

Annual and monthly prices were read from the official help page; the pricing page was read and showed $10, $22 and $44 a month without a stated billing basis. The help page says to email within the first week of a plan for a refund; the Professional credit figure conflicts on the pricing page. Confirm on the live pricing page.

Details checked October 2026 against the vendor's own pages. Prices and limits change, so confirm before you buy. Official pricing page ↗

Sources

This profile was compiled from these public pages. We have not run hands-on tests.

Summary

Sudowrite — at a glance

Sudowrite is an AI writing tool built for fiction, with a Story Bible for characters and worldbuilding plus tools to write, rewrite, describe, expand and brainstorm. It runs as a web app at sudowrite.com, and its blog does not specify other platforms.

Try Sudowrite →

Spot something wrong or out of date on this page? Report an error and we will take a look.

10X AI Assistant
10X AI
10X AI Assistant
Live
✕
Hey! Tell me what you're trying to do, or ask where to find something on the site — I'll point you to the right tools or page.
Action completed