What is JetBrains AI Assistant?
JetBrains AI Assistant is an AI service built into JetBrains IDEs. JetBrains lists AI chat with project context, single-line and block code completion, Next edit suggestions, and coding agents such as Junie, Claude Agent, Codex and GitHub Copilot, all inside the IDE.
Who it's for
It suits developers who already work in JetBrains IDEs and want AI features inside the editor. JetBrains also sells licenses to organizations, with admin-managed data settings and, for organizations migrated to JetBrains Central, a shared credit pool.
Pros & cons
Strengths
- JetBrains says code completion and Next edit suggestions do not use AI quota, and that AI Free includes unlimited use of local models (via Ollama, LM Studio or another OpenAI-compatible server) plus a limited cloud quota.
- JetBrains lists cloud models from OpenAI, Google, Anthropic and xAI, bring-your-own-key support for Anthropic, OpenAI and other OpenAI-compatible providers, and code completion on its own Mellum model.
- The agents page lists Junie, Claude Agent, Codex and GitHub Copilot as built-in options, and the help says any agent that supports the Agent Client Protocol (ACP) can be connected. MCP tools are supported.
- JetBrains says quota is shared across all supported IDEs under one JetBrains Account, and AI features are available in all JetBrains IDEs and Android Studio (the feature set varies by IDE).
- JetBrains says data sharing is opt-in for all paid licenses (company admins can control it centrally) and that it does not work with LLM providers that use customer data for model training.
- JetBrains says purchased top-up credits can be bought in any amount, are valid for 12 months, and are used after the subscription credits.
Limitations
- Cloud AI features draw on a monthly AI Credit quota (1 credit = $1 of usage, charged in local currency). It resets 30 days after first use, may not match the billing cycle, does not roll over, and cloud features pause when it runs out unless you buy top-ups.
- AI Free gives 3 credits per 30 days with no top-ups. JetBrains says it is not available in IntelliJ IDEA without Ultimate, PyCharm without Pro, Android Studio, or with licenses activated through License Server, and it is offered in serviceable territories only.
- The JetBrains help page shows two unlabeled plan tables with no dates: Pro $10 (10 credits) vs. $20 (20), Ultimate $30 (35) vs. $60 (70). JetBrains' FAQ lists Ultimate at $30.00 a month with $35 in credits, which matches the first table; the page does not say who the second table is for.
- The help page does not state a billing period for the prices, and the official buy and store pages returned no plan text when read, so billing terms, refunds and cancellation could not be confirmed.
- AI Enterprise is for organizations only, its credit amount is not disclosed, and top-ups are not yet available for it. The JetBrains AI service is no longer available in China as of July 13, 2026.
Plans and pricing
- AI Trial: $0. 30-day AI Pro trial starts on first activation of JetBrains AI; 10 credits (first table) or 20 credits (second table) per trial period; top-ups allowed.
- AI Free: $0. 3 credits per 30 days, no top-ups; unlimited local models and code completion; limited IDE support. The FAQ says it goes to holders of active JetBrains IDE licenses, including educational, open source, trial and other complimentary licenses.
- AI Pro: $10 (first table) or $20 (second table); billing period not stated. 10 or 20 credits per 30 days; top-ups available. Included free with DataSpell and with All Products Pack / dotUltimate (not for students, teachers or open source participants on the All Products Pack).
- AI Ultimate: $30 a month (FAQ, first table) or $60 (second table). 35 or 70 credits per 30 days (the 35 includes a $5 bonus per JetBrains); top-ups available.
- AI Enterprise: $60 (second table only). Organizations only; quota on par with Ultimate or higher, exact amount not disclosed; top-ups to come later.
Prices were read from the JetBrains AI Assistant help page (dated October 14, 2026) and the JetBrains FAQ; the official buy and store pages rendered no plan details. One independent source (Reported) says organization prices are $20 (AI Pro) and $60 (AI Ultimate) per user per month, which would fit the second table, but JetBrains' own pages do not say this. Prices are in USD; credits are charged in local currency. Confirm on the live pricing page.
Details checked October 2026 against the vendor's own pages. Prices and limits change, so confirm before you buy. Official pricing page ↗
Sources
This profile was compiled from these public pages. We have not run hands-on tests.
- jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/licensing-and-subscriptions.html
- jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/2026.1/licensing-and-subscriptions....
- lp.jetbrains.com/ai-ides-faq
- jetbrains.com/ai-ides/buy
- jetbrains.com/store/ai
- blog.jetbrains.com/es/ai/2025/09/un-modelo-mas-sencillo-y-transpare...
- usagepricing.com/blueprint/activity/jetbrains-ai-2026-09-01-packaging
- jetbrains.com/help/idea/ai-assistant-in-jetbrains-ides.html
- jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/agents.html
JetBrains AI Assistant — at a glance
JetBrains AI Assistant is an AI service built into JetBrains IDEs. JetBrains lists AI chat with project context, single-line and block code completion, Next edit suggestions, and coding agents such as Junie, Claude Agent, Codex and GitHub Copilot, all inside the IDE.
Try JetBrains AI Assistant →