Julius AI vs Hex
Julius AI and Hex side by side: what each one is, what it costs to start, and whether you can try it free. Everything below comes from the vendors' own sites and other public sources, not from hands-on testing.
Neither tool is ranked above the other here. These are research-based profiles, not hands-on tests. Starting price is the lowest listed paid plan per month (annual-billing equivalent where the vendor lists one), as shown on the vendor's own site when we last checked. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's site.
How this site works.
At a glance
| Julius AI | Hex |
|---|
| Category | Data & Analytics | Data & Analytics |
|---|
| Starting price | Free; paid plans from $16/mo (checked October 2026) | Free; paid plans from $36/mo (checked October 2026) |
|---|
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
|---|
| Profile | Read profile | Read profile |
|---|
Prices are in US dollars unless shown otherwise. Confirm the current price on the vendor's site before you buy.
Key differences
Both list a free tier, so you can try each before paying.
Julius AI has the lower starting price ($16/mo against $36/mo for Hex). The cheapest plan rarely has the same limits or features, so compare plans before choosing on price.
Both are in our Data & Analytics category.
About each tool
J

Julius AI
Chat-based data analysis tool that turns uploaded files into charts, reports and slides. Free plan; Plus is $16 a month billed annually ($20 monthly).
Who it is for
Julius says it is built for people who want statistical analysis and data science without writing code. It also sells shared team workspaces (Business, up to 50 members) and an Enterprise plan with SSO and audit logs.
Strengths
- Julius lists CSV, Excel (including multi-sheet workbooks), Google Sheets, PDF, JSON, Word, text and image files as supported inputs.
- Julius lists data connectors for PostgreSQL, MySQL, SQL Server, Snowflake, BigQuery, Supabase, Google Ads and Meta Ads; the pricing page shows Snowflake, BigQuery and Postgres on Pro and Business.
- Julius says it can build charts, statistical models, forecasts and machine-learning models from natural-language prompts, and turn analyses into slide decks or websites.
- Julius says its sandbox has no enforced row limit, with 32 GB of RAM as the practical ceiling (Pro lists 32 GB; Plus lists 16 GB).
- Julius says it holds SOC 2 Type II certification and TX-RAMP compliance, encrypts data in transit and at rest, and lets you start deletion of all your data at any time.
- The pricing page says Business adds a shared workspace with shared files and threads, and Enterprise adds SSO, user roles, audit logs and permanent file storage.
Limitations
- Usage is metered in credits, and the vendor says the cost of each action depends on the task, the model and task complexity; no fixed cost per message is published.
- Julius's FAQ says unused credits expire at the end of each billing cycle and do not carry over, and that credits are non-refundable and have no cash value.
- Julius's security page says it does not build its own models but may share data with its AI technology providers to help them improve their models, and that you can opt out by emailing privacy@julius.ai. All data is stored and processed in the United States.
- Refunds are not automatic: Julius says they are reviewed case by case and must be requested by email to team@julius.ai. The pages read do not state a cancellation policy, and seat counts for Plus and Pro are not stated.
H

Hex
Analytics platform for SQL, Python, data apps and AI agents. Free Community plan; Professional is $36 per Editor a month (annual billing not stated).
Who it is for
Hex's pricing page positions Community for hobbyists on small projects, Professional for individuals, Team for collaborating data teams, and Enterprise for organizations that need advanced security and governance. Its workspace roles also include Explorer and Viewer seats so non-authors can ask questions and use shared apps.
Strengths
- Hex lists connections to Snowflake, Redshift, BigQuery, Databricks, Postgres, ClickHouse, MariaDB, Athena, SQL Server, MySQL, Trino and Dremio, plus dbt, Git export to GitHub or GitLab, and Airflow, Dagster and Prefect.
- Hex says people can ask questions in plain language through Hex, Slack or MCP, and lists a CLI and a public API for custom integrations.
- Hex lists a free Community plan and a 14-day Team trial with no payment card required; if nothing is done, the workspace is downgraded to Community.
- Hex says students and educators at universities and bootcamps can get Professional free, and a discounted nonprofit program exists; both are requested by contacting Hex.
- Hex says it is audited annually for SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliance; its AI privacy doc says its LLM providers do not train on customer data and run under zero data retention by default.
- Hex's AI privacy doc says Enterprise admins can route AI through their own provider keys (BYOK), in which case AI use does not consume Hex credits, and admins can turn off AI for the whole workspace.
Limitations
- AI use is metered in credits per seat each month: Community 5, Professional 30, Team 40 (Explorer 10 on Team); Enterprise is set on the order form. Monthly grants do not roll over.
- Larger compute is not included on every plan: Professional lists Medium compute, and Team and Enterprise list advanced compute as an add-on. Single-tenant, HIPAA, embedded analytics and custom Docker images are Enterprise add-ons.
- Hex's two pricing pages disagree: the main page says Community has up to 5 published apps and small compute, while the A/B variant says up to 5 notebooks and 4GB RAM. Neither page states annual billing or a refund policy, and Hex may use AI session data to improve its AI features depending on plan (opt out in Settings).
Keep comparing
All comparisons · Browse the full directory →