Hex vs Deepnote
Hex and Deepnote side by side: what each one is, what it costs to start, and whether you can try it free. Everything below comes from the vendors' own sites and other public sources, not from hands-on testing.
Neither tool is ranked above the other here. These are research-based profiles, not hands-on tests. Starting price is the lowest listed paid plan per month (annual-billing equivalent where the vendor lists one), as shown on the vendor's own site when we last checked. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's site.
How this site works.
At a glance
| Hex | Deepnote |
|---|
| Category | Data & Analytics | Data & Analytics |
|---|
| Starting price | Free; paid plans from $36/mo (checked October 2026) | Free; paid plans from $39/mo (checked October 2026) |
|---|
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
|---|
| Profile | Read profile | Read profile |
|---|
Prices are in US dollars unless shown otherwise. Confirm the current price on the vendor's site before you buy.
Key differences
Both list a free tier, so you can try each before paying.
Hex has the lower starting price ($36/mo against $39/mo for Deepnote). The cheapest plan rarely has the same limits or features, so compare plans before choosing on price.
Both are in our Data & Analytics category.
About each tool
H

Hex
Analytics platform for SQL, Python, data apps and AI agents. Free Community plan; Professional is $36 per Editor a month (annual billing not stated).
Who it is for
Hex's pricing page positions Community for hobbyists on small projects, Professional for individuals, Team for collaborating data teams, and Enterprise for organizations that need advanced security and governance. Its workspace roles also include Explorer and Viewer seats so non-authors can ask questions and use shared apps.
Strengths
- Hex lists connections to Snowflake, Redshift, BigQuery, Databricks, Postgres, ClickHouse, MariaDB, Athena, SQL Server, MySQL, Trino and Dremio, plus dbt, Git export to GitHub or GitLab, and Airflow, Dagster and Prefect.
- Hex says people can ask questions in plain language through Hex, Slack or MCP, and lists a CLI and a public API for custom integrations.
- Hex lists a free Community plan and a 14-day Team trial with no payment card required; if nothing is done, the workspace is downgraded to Community.
- Hex says students and educators at universities and bootcamps can get Professional free, and a discounted nonprofit program exists; both are requested by contacting Hex.
- Hex says it is audited annually for SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliance; its AI privacy doc says its LLM providers do not train on customer data and run under zero data retention by default.
- Hex's AI privacy doc says Enterprise admins can route AI through their own provider keys (BYOK), in which case AI use does not consume Hex credits, and admins can turn off AI for the whole workspace.
Limitations
- AI use is metered in credits per seat each month: Community 5, Professional 30, Team 40 (Explorer 10 on Team); Enterprise is set on the order form. Monthly grants do not roll over.
- Larger compute is not included on every plan: Professional lists Medium compute, and Team and Enterprise list advanced compute as an add-on. Single-tenant, HIPAA, embedded analytics and custom Docker images are Enterprise add-ons.
- Hex's two pricing pages disagree: the main page says Community has up to 5 published apps and small compute, while the A/B variant says up to 5 notebooks and 4GB RAM. Neither page states annual billing or a refund policy, and Hex may use AI session data to improve its AI features depending on plan (opt out in Settings).
D

Deepnote
Cloud notebook for data teams with Python, SQL and built-in AI. Free plan available; Team is $39 per editor a month billed annually.
Who it is for
Deepnote's site and plans target data science and analytics teams that want to work in shared notebooks, with Enterprise aimed at organizations that need audit and compliance controls. The docs also describe a separate free Education plan for students, teachers and researchers.
Strengths
- Deepnote lists unlimited viewers on every plan, and the docs say viewers are not charged; billing is per Editor and Admin seat.
- The Free plan lists unlimited Basic machines (5 GB RAM, 2 vCPU), up to 3 editors, 5 projects, 7-day revision history and SOC 2 Type II.
- The Team plan lists unlimited editors and projects, scheduled notebooks, background execution, Git sync, shared datasets, access controls, the Notebook API and a 30-day revision history.
- Team lists warehouse and storage integrations including BigQuery, Snowflake, Redshift, Databricks, MongoDB, S3 and GCS, plus GitHub and GitLab; Free lists PostgreSQL, MySQL, ClickHouse, MariaDB, MindsDB and Google Drive.
- The data privacy docs say notebook content processed by Deepnote AI is not used for model training, and that workspace admins can turn Deepnote AI off in Settings & Members.
- Deepnote lists a 14-day free trial of Team, and the docs say seats can be added or removed at any time, with changes applying at the next billing period.
Limitations
- The Free plan lists no scheduled runs, Git sync, shared datasets, access controls, Plus machines, SSO or audit logs, and the docs say the Free tier has a 15-minute hardware inactivity shutdown (24 hours on Team and Enterprise).
- Team is billed per Editor and Admin seat and includes $39 in AI credits, $280 in CPU and $50 in GPU each month; the docs say AI use beyond the quota and extra machine hours are pay-as-you-go, billed per minute.
- The docs say removing a seat during an annual term is not refunded, and annual plans are not eligible for refunds on downgrade or cancellation; monthly plans get a prorated refund for unused days. The cancellation docs page itself does not state refund terms.
- The pricing page shows the Free plan with '$112/month worth' of Basic compute, but the machine-hours docs give no hour count and say Deepnote may cap compute for irregular or very high usage.
Keep comparing
All comparisons · Browse the full directory →