Live · 452 tools tracked today ⓘ Affiliate disclosure EspañolES

Get occasional email updates on new AI tools. No spam.

Adobe Premiere Pro vs CapCut

Adobe Premiere Pro and CapCut side by side: what each one is, what it costs to start, and whether you can try it free. Everything below comes from the vendors' own sites and other public sources, not from hands-on testing.

Neither tool is ranked above the other here. These are research-based profiles, not hands-on tests. Starting price is the lowest listed paid plan per month (annual-billing equivalent where the vendor lists one), as shown on the vendor's own site when we last checked. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's site. How this site works.

At a glance

Adobe Premiere ProCapCut
CategoryVideo & MotionVideo & Motion
Starting price$22.99/mo (checked October 2026)$19.99/mo (checked October 2026)
Free tierNot listedYes
ProfileRead profileRead profile

Prices are in US dollars unless shown otherwise. Confirm the current price on the vendor's site before you buy.

Key differences

CapCut lists a free tier and Adobe Premiere Pro does not.

CapCut has the lower starting price ($19.99/mo against $22.99/mo for Adobe Premiere Pro). The cheapest plan rarely has the same limits or features, so compare plans before choosing on price.

Both are in our Video & Motion category.

About each tool

Adobe Premiere Pro

Adobe's video editor with AI tools such as Generative Extend and Object Mask. The individual plan is $22.99 a month, annual plan billed monthly.

Who it is for

Adobe sells it to individuals (single-app or Creative Cloud Pro), students and teachers (a discounted Creative Cloud Pro plan with eligibility checks) and business teams (per-license plans with an Admin Console). The free mobile app is positioned as a standalone social video editor, separate from the paid desktop plans.

Strengths

  • Adobe lists Generative Extend (lengthens clips with added frames or ambient sound), Object Mask, Media Intelligence search by plain-language description, Text-Based Editing from a transcript, Enhance Speech, Auto Color, Auto Reframe and Auto Ducking.
  • Adobe says Speech to Text produces transcripts in over 18 languages with speaker detection, and that captions can be translated into 27 languages.
  • Adobe lists the individual Premiere plan at 100GB storage plus Frame.io, an Adobe Express Premium plan, 20,000+ fonts and 1 million+ free assets; the business Premiere plan lists 1TB storage, an Admin Console and 180-day version histories.
  • Adobe's help pages say Creative Cloud Pro includes unlimited standard generative generations plus 4,000 monthly credits for premium generations.
  • Adobe states it does not train on Creative Cloud subscribers' personal content, and that its current Firefly models were trained on licensed content such as Adobe Stock and public domain content.
  • Adobe's trial page offers a 7-day free trial of the full app for desktop, web and mobile, with no charge until the trial ends.

Limitations

  • Adobe's help pages list 25 monthly generative credits for single-app plans started on or after June 17, 2025 (500 for earlier subscribers). Credits reset monthly and do not roll over, and extra credits cost more.
  • Generative Extend is a premium feature that Adobe meters per second of output. The Generative Credits FAQ lists 100 credits a second at 1080p/24 fps and 125 at 1080p/30 fps, so 25 credits cover a fraction of one second of 1080p.
  • Every plan on Adobe's US plans page is billed as annual, billed monthly. On that plan, Adobe's US terms say canceling after 14 days brings an early termination fee of 50% of the remaining contract balance, and prepaid annual plans are not refundable if canceled before the year ends.
  • Creative Cloud Pro is shown at $34.99 a month for the first 3 months for new subscribers (regularly $69.99), and the student and teacher price of $19.99 a month is for the first year. Adobe's page does not state the price after those periods other than the regular $69.99.

CapCut

ByteDance's video editor for desktop, web and mobile, with AI captions, background removal, templates and AI video generation. Free plan; Pro from $19.99/mo.

Who it is for

Content creators making videos for YouTube, Instagram and TikTok, plus marketers and small businesses using the business templates. CapCut's homepage also names casual users editing vlogs or trip footage.

Strengths

  • Free plan available, with no credit card needed to start
  • Available on desktop (Windows and macOS), web and mobile (iOS and Android)
  • CapCut's caption page describes its AI caption tool as free to use and lists support for 20+ languages
  • Export options listed: web up to 4K, desktop 2K and 4K up to 60fps, mobile 720p to 2K or 4K where supported
  • Pro and Teams plans list 1 TB of cloud storage; Teams adds a brand kit

Limitations

  • Free exports can carry a watermark when some templates, effects or stock elements are used
  • AI generation is credit-based: Pro lists 1,200 monthly AI credits, Ultra 8,645 and Teams 1,200 per seat
  • On mobile, subscribing goes through App Store or Google Play billing, and the pricing page does not state per-platform price differences

Keep comparing

All comparisons · Browse the full directory →

Spot something wrong or out of date on this page? Report an error and we will take a look.

10X AI Assistant
10X AI
10X AI Assistant
Live
✕
Hey! Tell me what you're trying to do, or ask where to find something on the site — I'll point you to the right tools or page.
Action completed